TO: James L. App, City Manager

FROM: Joseph M. Deakin, Public Works Director

SUBJECT: Council Appointments – Airport Advisory Committee

DATE: November 19, 2002

NEEDS:

For the City Council to ratify/clarify their appointments to the Citizens Airport Advisory Committee.

FACTS:

- 1. On October 9, 2002, the City Council convened to an adjourned Regular Meeting for the primary purpose of interviewing and selecting Airport Advisory Committee (AAC) members. Prior to the meeting, staff had advertised the Committee openings, and collected thirteen applications.
- On October 9, 2002, the City Council interviewed eleven applicants (two withdrew) as follows:

Richard Adams Suzanne Smith (incumbent)

Lee Agon (incumbent) Ion Iones

Roger Blank Stanley Levanduski Steve Ellis James L. McCall, III

Alan Fillmore Richard Morton (incumbent)

J. Mac Gleim (incumbent) Ronald Rose (incumbent)

Hal Kempthorne

- 3. The Council was to appoint candidates to the available positions on the Committee. The openings on the Committee are:
  - 5 regular two-year terms, expiring October 31, 2004; and
  - 2 "unexpired" alternate memberships expiring on October 31, 2003 (one-year term).

The Council chose seven appointees:

Lee Agon (incumbent)
J. Mac Gleim (incumbent)
Stanley Levanduski
James L. McCall, III
Richard Morton (incumbent)
Ronald Rose (incumbent)
Suzanne Smith (incumbent)

## ANALYSIS AND

**CONCLUSION:** 

During the October 9, 2002 deliberation, the Council explored options for filling the vacant AAC memberships. The Council's decision on October 9, 2002, did not match the criteria provided for the vacancies (i.e. 5 regular two-year voting members, and 2 one-year alternates). The Council needs to review the selections made for the open AAC memberships, and appoint 5 regular members and 2 alternates. The 5 regular members will be appointed for two-year terms, the 2 alternates for one-year terms.

## POLICY

**REFERENCE:** Airport Advisory Committee Bylaws.

FISCAL

**IMPACT:** None

**OPTIONS:** 

a. Appoint five regular two-year members, and appoint two alternate one-year members, to the Airport Advisory Committee.

b. Amend, modify or reject the above option.